2015 Prize Giving

Birmingham P6

Each year we celebrate the achievements of our most outstanding students in our prize-giving event.  This years prize-giving was presided over by Dr George Harris whose work with young people in the West Midlands as a clinical psychologist has brought enormous benefit and acclaim from those he has worked with.

Dr Harris reflected on the considerable effort and commitment undertaken by students, parents and staff to bring about the success being celebrated in the prize-giving.

He gave insights into his work and reminded students that life was not defined by chance alone but by coming to MPW students had been dealt a lucky hand by their parents. As parents, Dr Harris concluded, we do our best to reduce the randomness of life and the associated risks that this randomness can bring.

Dr Harris felt that MPW provided students with the perfect platform from which they could develop success and moving forward with their lives students should ensure that they build upon this and bring goodness into their professional and personal lives.

Sameer Sultan won the MPW prize for outstanding academic achievement. Sameer transferred from King Edward VI School Camp Hill for Boys where he completed his AS levels.  Sameer studied A2 Biology, Chemistry and Mathematics at MPW obtaining grades A*A*A respectively.  Sameer won a place to read Medicine at the University of Bristol.

Mohammed Ismail also won a prize for outstanding academic achievementMohammedjoined MPW in September 2013 from Shireland Collegiate Academy where he took his GCSEs.  Mohammed joined MPW to study a two year A level programme in Biology, Chemistry and Mathematics obtaining grades A*AA. Mohammed is now reading Pharmacy at Aston University.

Alex Moran won the Principal’s award for outstanding contributions to college life.  Alex Joined MPW having studied AS levels at The King’s School, Worcester. Alex studied a two year A level programme at MPW and obtained grades AAA in Economics, English Literature and Law. He is now reading Law at the University of Birmingham.

Ali Shakarchy won the MPW value added award. Ali joined MPW having studied his AS levels at Handsworth Grammar School. He studied a two year A level programme in Chemistry, Biology and Business Studies obtaining grades AAA. Ali is now at the University of Manchester reading Information Technology Management for Business (Strategy and Economics).

Jonathon Newbould (Jonty) won the MPW award for the best retake student. He joined MPW from Shrewsbury School having achieved grades CCC in A level Classical Civilisation, Economics and Spanish.  At MPW he studied one year A levels in Spanish, Business Studies and Classical Civilisation achieving grades AAB respectively. Jonty is now at King’s College London reading Spanish and Management.

Puja Jalota (PJ) and Suraj Bath shared the MPW dentistry award. PJ completed one year A levels in Biology and Chemistry having joined from King Edward VI High School for Girls obtaining grades A*A. PJ is now reading Dentistry at the University of Cardiff. Surah obtained grades AAA in the A levels of Biology, Chemistry and Geography having joined MPW from Bishop Vesey’s Grammar School. He is now studying Dentistry at the University of Bristol.

Alesha Ghani won the award for best Humanities student having joined MPW from Solihull School. Studying a two year A level programme in Classical Civilisation, English Literature and Government and Politics she obtained grades AAA. Alesha is now reading Law at the University of Warwick.

Arjan Nagra won the MPW medical award. Having completed his A levels at King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Boys achieving grades ABB, Arjan undertook retake courses in Biology and Mathematics obtaining grades A*A. He won at place at King’s College London to study Medicine.

Neekita Joshi won the Nikul Patel memorial price for mathematics. Neekita joined MPW from King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Girls to complete A levels in Mathematics, Biology and History, obtaining grade A* in Mathematics. Neekita is currently studying Optometry at the University of Manchester.

Martin Ovberedjo won the MPW art award joining MPW from Old Swinford Hospital School. At MPW he completed a two year A level programme in Art, Photography and Media Studies. Martin now studies Digital Media Production at Oxford Brookes University.

Fiona Cullen won the MPW GCSE prize joining MPW from King Edward VI High School for Girls. She is now studying a two year A level programme at MPW in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics and Spanish.

Xuanqing Zhu (Sunny) won the MPW international student award. Sunny achieved A*A*A* in her two year A level programme of Mathematics, Further Mathematics and Physics. Sunny is now studying at Imperial College, London reading Mathematics, Optimisation and Statistics.

Kyra Bowman won the Riya Dandekar memorial award for public speaking.  Krya joined MPW from Frankfurt International School after initially attempting to study the IB. She completed A levels in Economics, History and English Literature and obtained grades AAB. Kyra is currently reading History and Politics at the University of Exeter.