2013 Prize Giving

MPW 2013 Prize Giving

MPW college awards a number of prizes in recognition of academic achievement. Last year’s prize winners include:

Bank of England Competition
Jointly awarded to:
Van Nguyen
Continuing at MPW studying A2;
place at London School of Economics
Sebastian Cubbon
Continuing at MPW studying A2;
place at King’s College London
(Politics of the International Economy)
Konysbek Diarabekov
Continuing at MPW studying A2;
place at Bristol University (Economics)
Zoe Tan
Continuing at MPW studying A2; place
at London School of Economics (Law)

The Laura Freeman GCSE Prize
John Jayne
Continuing at MPW studying A levels

The MPW Lower-Sixth Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Hai Doan Bui
Continuing at MPW studying A2;
place at University College London
Flora Zhang
Continuing at MPW studying A2; place
at Cambridge University (Economics)

The Sylvia Trott Prize for Languages
Peter Akindele
African Leadership Academy

The Denise Callahan Arts Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Oliver Taylor
Cambridge University (English)
Edith Dormandy
University College London (History of

The Winifred Durnford Social
Science Prize
Yasmin Batalova
University of St Andrews (Psychology)

The Martin Dyson Science Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Cordelia Sands
Oxford University (Biology)
Victoria Deng
Imperial College London (Chemistry)

The Huw Thomas Prize for best
performance in Humanities
Jonathan Spelman
Durham University (Business)

The MPW Art Prize
Oliver Bradford
London College of Communications
(Graphic Design)

The MPW Medical Sciences Prize
Joshua Yip
University of Birmingham (Medicine)

The MPW Prize for best
performance in A level Mathematics
Jointly awarded to:
Emily Zheng
University College London
(Theoretical Physics)
Amin Salehzadeh Nobari
Imperial College London
(Biomedical Engineering)

The Phil Tyler Memorial Prize for RS
Rupert Waring
Newcastle University
(Combined Honours)

The MPW A level Retake Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Timothy Emkes
Durham University
(Geology and Geophysics)
Emily Watson
Durham University (Psychology)

The Principal’s Award
Fahrid Chishty
King’s College London
(Politics, Philosophy and Law)

The MPW Prize for Outstanding
Alexia Wight
Imperial College London (Physics)

The yearly prize-giving is the highlight of the college calendar and one of the most anticipated events of the autumn, as term draws to a close and everyone’s thoughts begin to turn to Christmas. This year was no exception, with all the prizewinners – together with their parents and teachers – gathering together to celebrate their deserved success. The outstanding academic achievements of last year’s students were marked by the annual ceremony in which guest of honour, comedian Jack Dee, awarded the prizes.

It was particularly difficult to choose between candidates this year as there have been so many exceptional students. This was also reflected by the fact that CIFE – the Council for Independent Further Education – have awarded 25% of their own awards this year to MPW students.

In a typically deadpan and humorous speech, Jack Dee emphasised the importance of academic success, not least because, statistically, you are more likely to encounter luck in later life – and have the set of skills to make the most of it. He finished his speech with his own advice for success, which is: to turn up; turn up on time; turn up on time with a plan. If you turn up on time with a plan and then execute that plan, he suggested, you will be unstoppable.