2014 Prize Giving

London P11.jpg

The shortening days and lengthening hours of darkness that mark the end of the Autumn Term are given welcome fillip by the annual Prize Giving evening, which gets the festive season off to a start with its spirit of celebration and is a reminder of students’ exam successes during the past year. In short, it is one of the highlights of the college calendar and this year was no exception. The outstanding academic achievements of last year’s students were marked by the ceremony in which guest of honour, Richard Todd QC, awarded the prizes. Many of the recipients were also CIFE award winners. This was a particularly difficult year to choose the winners as no less than 35 students had gained three A grades or higher.

In a highly amusing speech, Richard Todd emphasised the qualities that set apart those who are academic leaders: Passion, Analytical ability, Industry, Knowledge and Teachability. Determination and flair must be combined with independent thought, the ability of think and write logically, hard work, understanding and a willingness to learn from others. Above all, he joked, knowledge is highly important as only then do you understand that you should never lick a steak knife, or take a laxative and a sleeping pill at the same time! Most importantly, be resilient and discerning, he advised, and be faithful to your ability: after all, in the future we will be relying upon you to pay our pensions!

John Cameron

The MPW Prize for Outstanding Achievement
Qingyan Zhang

Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge (Economics)

The Principal’s Award
Tuan Truong Van Nguyen
London School of Economics (Management)

The Laura Freeman GCSE Prize
Mathilda Wood
Studying A levels at Harris Academy, Westminster

The MPW Lower-Sixth Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Henry Houghton
Has applied to read Economics at University College, London
Edward Kerr-Dineen
has applied to read Physics at University College, London

The Sylvia Trott Prize for Languages
Calum Wilmot
Southampton University (Modern Foreign Languages)

The Denise Callahan Arts Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Eleanor Brunton
Manchester University (Psychology)
Olivia Hammond
Bristol University (Philosophy)

The Winifred Durnford Social
Science Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Katherine Sloane
University of Leeds (English)
Zoe Tan
London School of Economics (Law)

The Martin Dyson Science Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Amin Karamlou
Imperial College, London (Computing)
Jie Zhang
University College, London (Chemistry)

The Huw Thomas Prize for best
performance in Humanities
Jointly awarded to:
Imogen Dodd
Queen Mary, London (Law)
Isabella Martinez-Sistac Orozco
London School of Economics (Law)

The MPW Art Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Emma Branflick
Southampton University: Winchester School of Art (Fashion Textiles)
Thu Ha Khuat

University of the Arts: London College of Fashion (Fashion)

The John McSkimming Medical Sciences Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Adam Lebby
St George’s, London (Medicine)

Arthur Redhead
Plymouth University (Medicine)

The MPW Mathematics Prize
Jointly awarded to:
Hai Doan Bui
University College London
Yeqin Chen
Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge (Economics)

The Phil Tyler Religious Studies Prize
Nicholas Rothwell
Edinburgh University (English)

The MPW A level Retake Prize
Alice Carter-Pegg
University of East Anglia (Accounting and Finance)